The Certified Asset Management Assessor (CAMA) Certification establishes an individual’s credentials in asset management knowledge and comprehension, globally.  The CAMA Certification also meets the requirements for the Joint Australian and New Zealand Asset Management Systems Scheme (AMS Scheme): “Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of Asset Management Systems”, April 2015.  

The Certification comprises two components: a knowledge component which is met through either successful completion of the CAMA Exam, or successful completion of a Recognised Equivalent Certificate; and a competency component which is met through successful demonstration of sufficient work experience (a minimum of five years) in the professional field of Asset Management.  WPiAM develops, maintains, and administers the CAMA Exam.

The Certification is conducted in accordance with 17024, and complies with:

  • GFMAM Specification, GFMAM Competency Specification for an ISO 55001 Asset Management System Auditor/Assessor, Second Edition, English.

  • 17021 Part 5, section 5 Conformity assessment — Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems — Part 5: Competence requirements for the certification of asset management systems.

What are the prerequisites for the Certification?

Applicants must:

  • Have a minimum 5 years of working experience in asset management;

  • Complete a professional profile which is then reviewed and approved by the WPiAM Technical Team.

Applicants should:

  • Have a working knowledge of ISO 5500X Standards; and

  • Understand the GFMAM Competency Specification for an ISO 55001 Asset Management System Auditor/Assessor.

How is the CAMA Certification obtained?

There are two pathways available for achieving your CAMA Certification. Both pathways require the applicant to successfully demonstrate competency by completing their Professional Profile in their WPiAM account.

  1. The CAMA Exam.  Candidates book their exam online via the WPiAM website after creating their WPiAM account and completing their Professional Profile.
  2. A Recognised Equivalent Certificate.  You can click here to find out more about which Certificates are considered equivalent to the CAMA Exam, and the requirements for this pathway.

CAMA2 is coming!  To align with the revision of the ISO55001 Standard and the 3rd Edition of the GFMAM AM Landscape (both due for release by end of June 2024), the CAMA Exam is undergoing a major reworking – all new questions, all new material. 

The CAMA Exam is 110 randomly selected questions from a much larger question pool..  For CAMA2, the question pool will be much larger than it has been previously, meaning no two exams will be the same.  The CAMA2 Exam will be available from 1st October 2024, giving our Recognised Training Providers and other stakeholders time to study and adopt the changes to the ISO Standard and GFMAM AM Landscape.

From 1st July 2024, WPiAM will be issuing a summary of these changes, and will have an online quiz available to existing CAMA Certificants, which will assess whether existing CAMA Certificants have studied the changes and are aware of them. 

CAMA Certificants who are due to recertify from 1st October 2024 will need to upload proof of their understanding of these changes (either a successful quiz result or a certificate of completion by a Recognised Training Provider who offers gap training) as part of their CPD, so they can recertify into the CAMA2 Certification. 

CAMA Certifications who are due to recertify from 1st July 2024 will be given until 1st October 2024 to recertify, to enable them to recertify into CAMA2, should they choose to do so.

Those who want to ‘upgrade’ their existing CAMA to CAMA2, but are not due for recertification, may do so by:

  • Undertaking the WPiAM CAMA2 gap quiz or external gap training, and providing proof of understanding (a pass mark on the quiz or certificate of completion from RTP).
  • Paying a US$40 admin fee.

The CAMA2 is valid until the expiry date of the existing CAMA Certification. For example:

Example A:  Ralph, who isn’t due to recertify until 1st September 2026, wants to get CAMA2 earlier. He can follow the above steps and be issued a CAMA2, dated 1st July 2024-1st September 2026.

Example B:  Maria who sat her CAMA exam on 24th May and passed, but now wants to upgrade to CAMA2.  She can follow the above steps and be issued a CAMA2, dated 1st July 2024-24th May 2027.

If you have any questions about CAMA2, please contact Merrelyn on

Terms & Conditions, Policies, Guides and Tips can be found here.

For more information, please read through our Frequently Asked Questions or email our Examination Coordinator at